Entries invited for the 5th Annual South African Wine Writers Award The Franschhoek Literary Festival 17 – 19 May 2013

South African wine writers are invited to enter the 5th Annual South African Wine Writers Award. Articles written during 2012 and published in South Africa, or on a recognized South African website, will be considered. Initiated in 2009, the Wine Writers Award is presented annually by the Franschhoek Wine Valley Tourist Association (FWVTA) in association with the Franschhoek Literary Festival, and carries a R25 000 cash prize. Norman McFarlane won last year and Edo Heyns was the runner up.
The purpose of the award is to celebrate the art of wine writing, and the articles will be evaluated on both technical accuracy and literary quality. Each writer may submit one wine-related entry, in the original language of publication. If necessary, they will be translated into English for judging purposes. The articles will be forwarded anonymously to an independent panel of local and international judges chosen by the organizers.
This year the judges are local radio personality, John Maytham; author and BBC radio producer Duncan Minshull; and editor of the Canadian wine magazine, VINES Magazine, Christopher Waters.
After all three judges have agreed on a winner, he or she and the runner-up will be announced at the Franschhoek Literary Festival on 17 May this year.
The judges’ decision is final. The closing date for submission is Thursday 18 April 2013. Articles should be submitted in MSWord format to Please supply the following information on a separate page: author, publication, date of publication, article title and author contact details.
For any enquiries or further information on the festival or the Wine Writers Award please contact Claire Richards at or on 082 044 6446