Franschhoek Female Empowerment On Display At the 2019 Franschhoek Prestige Agri-Awards

Since its inception in 2002 female agri worker participants have increased significantly, which has resulted in 13 women moving forward to the next round. At total of 43 finalists from Franschhoek were selected. Another noticeable factor was the women’s level of knowledge and passion for their respective responsibilities, which impressed the panel of judges.
By including female finalists at this level of recognition undoubtedly showcases the strength of women and their unseen contributions towards agriculture in the Western Cape.
The women have been selected as finalists in the following categories:

  • General Worker
  • Irrigation Specialist
  • Technical Operator
  • Administrative Personell
  • Agri-processing
  • Foreman/-woman
  • Junior Management

The winners in the respective categories will be announced at a special event on 23 September 2019 at Môreson Wine Farm.
The Agri-Awards – an initiative previously known as the Farmworker of the Year competition – honours excellence in the province’s agricultural sector.  In doing so the competition is able to acknowledge farmworkers for their hard work, who make a significant contribution to our country’s economy. The competition is co-sponsored by the Western Cape Department of Agriculture and the Shoprite Group, with the latter being involved with the initiative for the past eight years.

Naomi Muller
Ntombi Mpahleni
Emelia September
Letitia Kammies
Freshness First:
Anthea Daniels
Levona Williams
Lesle Adonis
Maselemo Nthlathe
La- Motte:
Jennifer Fredericks
Beulah Strydom
Mont Rochelle:
Sanna Williams
Malinda Mouton