Franschhoek Wine Valley

Franschhoek Vignerons Shine at 2020 Shiraz Challenge

Although wine sales and distribution are currently not allowed, the industry is still doing its best to keep wine messaging top of mind. Industry competitions being one of them, with the latest being the announcement of the Top 12 Champions in the 8th annual Shiraz Challenge, which was hosted by cultivar association Shiraz SA. Breaking from tradition, as well as embracing the new normal, the winners were announced via an online awards ceremony.

Included in the Top 12 Champions line up was the Babylonstoren Shiraz 2018, Old Road Wine Co’s Pepper Wind Syrah 2017 and the Wildeberg Red 2019. La Motte’s Pierneef Syrah Viognier 2017 and the Rickety Bridge Shiraz 2017 were named as runners-up in this Shiraz category.

The Babylonstoren Babel 2018 was one of three winners in the Shiraz blend category.

The unique format for this year’s tasting eliminated inter-session discussion of wines and required each judge to follow his own specific tasting order. Shiraz SA, which was established in 2008, is currently the largest cultivar organisation with over 230 members. It represents producers of South African Shiraz and aims to create awareness of the superior and award-winning wines produced locally from this splendid cultivar.

Franschhoek Wine Valley exists to:

  • Develop and implement marketing plans to profile the Franschhoek Wine Valley
  • Arrange and advertise events that support the Franschhoek Wine Valley brand image and which encourage visitors to the Valley
  • Represent the business interests of our members to the Stellenbosch Municipality
  • Aggregate the combined buying power of our members to leverage economy of scale benefits from service providers
  • Coordinate free advisory services and discussion forums to support our member’s businesses

Our Accolades

  • TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice Awards 2020 - Top 25 Emerging Worldwide Destinations (15th position).
  • Tripadvisor Traveller's Choice Destination Winner 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015
  • Most Memorable Wine Route 2014, 2013 & 2012
  • Service Excellence Award - 2015
  • Best Tourism Event 2015 - Franschhoek Bastille Festival
  • Best Local Tourism Authority Information service 2013 & 2012

Tourism Levy

Certain establishments in Franschhoek may levy visitors with voluntary contributions towards the running of the FWV and to support local charities. Should visitors not wish to contribute to these causes, please indicate this to the relevant merchant.


Maintenance & validity of all business operating permits, licences and registration certificates are the responsibility of the business owner. Franschhoek Wine Valley takes no responsibility for the renewal of the required legal business operating documentation.


Contact Us

Franschhoek Wine Valley

Physical Address
62 Huguenot Road

Office hours
Monday: 09h00 – 12h00
Tuesday to Friday: 09h00 – 16h00
Saturday: 09h00 – 13h00
Sunday: closed

Contact Details
+27(0) 21 876 2861